Filtrar por:

Calificación media

  • En general
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Atención al cliente

Sobre GitHub

Software que permite a los equipos de desarrollo colaborar, y revisar y administrar el código. Funciona con Windows, Mac y dispositivos móviles.

Descubre más sobre GitHub

Mostrando 3,560 opiniones

Perla R.
Lic
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    6/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 27/7/2021

"Un poco limitado"

Puntos a favor: Utilizo este software junto con odoo, me gusta que esta integrado directamente a esta otra herramienta que utilizamos y no hay que hacer tanto movimiento para hacer un deploy de la app

Contras: esta limitado a 3 usuarios el uso gratuito de la plataforma, el uso que le doy es muy basico para pagar una licencia premium de este servicio

Alternativas consideradas: Bitbucket

Razones para elegir GitHub: me parece mucho mas completo todo el servicio que ofrece atlassian

Software anterior: Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: necesito github porque viene integrado con odoo sh que tenemos tambien en uso

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 27/7/2021
Moris M.
Moris M.
Colaborador Técnico
Administración gubernamental, 5,001-10,000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 8/4/2020

"GitHub - El repositorio definitivo"

Comentarios: Muy gratificante, facil de usar como usario sin complicaciones.

Puntos a favor: La facilidad de uso es una gran ventaja, ademas tener ordenado por proyectos , las revisiones ofrecen una perspectiva de los cambios realiados de una manera ordenada, la posibilidad de tener una interaccion con un grupo de trabajo o con una comunidad si es un proyecto abierto.

Contras: Seria de gran ayuda un dashboard para la administracion de los difrenetes repositorios y tener una vision general de cada proyecto asi como de los integrantes que contribuyen en cada uno de estos.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 8/4/2020
Emiliano P.
Emiliano P.
Game Developer
Servicios de información, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 13/5/2021

"One of the best git services out there"

Comentarios: We use it to share a repository with a Unity project (games for mobile and PC mostly), and it's really been helpful for us since our struggles to collaborate due to Unity nuances in particular, helped us to learn how to build better code that's maintainable on a team, this things are often overlooked on one-man projects. By Github being free and world renown it's quite easy that colleagues already have an account, thus making it easy for us to give them access for a code review, game-jams or collaborations in general.

Puntos a favor: Github is world renown, it's been making my life easier for years. We mainly use with colleagues or friends to work on game development projects, and it's easy to use even for non-coders since they include a Windows and MacOS GUI out of the box, and it's compatible with any git manager out there. They recently added the ability to have free private repositories, which are great.

Contras: The fork and pull request process designed to propose changes on third party repositories seems a bit troublesome to me in particular, but I understand why they did it, and I just got used to it.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 13/5/2021
Dasun T.
Dasun T.
Associate Software Engineer
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/7/2021

"One of my favourite git services"

Comentarios: Great! I always use GitHub for more than two years, It speeds up my workflow and has very good customer support. They give us new updates fastly, I am excited to see the next update!

Puntos a favor: GitHub is easy to use and has great features. I actually manage this git service for my open-source projects and personal projects. The most important feature is that GitHub allows us all to contribute to any public repository. We can show off our skills and develop because all people generally use GitHub to search for open source packages.

Contras: In my opinion, the price is a bit pricey because for example BitBucket & GitLab offer the same features including a FREE plan.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/7/2021
Usuario verificado
Team Leader
Servicios financieros, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 23/7/2021

"GitHub is my choice for repo keeping"

Puntos a favor: - community
- availability
- new features (dark theme, contrast theme, updated code review tools)
- git actions
- git applications

Contras: - doesn't have cherry-picking in web version

Alternativas consideradas: Bitbucket y GitLab

Razones para elegir GitHub: due to community

Software anterior: GitLab

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: - due to community - the latest drop was the moment when github release free private repos

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 23/7/2021
Avash K.
Avash K.
Web Developer and Page Optimization Specialist
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/6/2021

"Essential Tool for Every Developer"

Comentarios: Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more than 2 years and it is one of the most polished tools I have ever used. After we spend some time learning about it, Github can be very intuitive. It's small features like directly copying code from files just by dragging it to its interface, or that it renders CSV, STL explains how polished it is.

Puntos a favor: Github is the most famous git services available online - I personally don't know any developers who don't use Github. This in turn makes Github essential to any developers as many people share codes and stuff through Github. I don't know exactly why but developers nowadays seem to prefer to just put their work in Github. Thus GitHub hosts almost all kind of open source projects which I love to fork and play around with. I personally think it is very productive. It has a good and intuitive User Interface which makes viewing information and reading code easier. I also feel Github is stable than other alternatives available.

Contras: I don't think there is much to dislike about Github but I think it isn't very easy to use for a beginner. I spent a long time learning about Git commands and stuff. Other than this, I can't think of any cons.

Alternativas consideradas: GitLab

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: I am not sure but I think Github is faster than Gitlab. Github is more popular among developers which made us use Github too.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/6/2021
Khan nida khanum A.
Software Engineer
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 1,001-5,000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 18/6/2021

"Github excellet tool for version control"

Comentarios: Overall , github is widely used and recommended for beginner and experienced engineer

Puntos a favor: Easy to use for daily task of managing project versions. Good for collaboration across teams. Also, the github OAUTH and github apis are well documented and easy to use to integrate with out internal applications

Contras: Gists are not shown in the user profile. An out of box way to show gists in user Github profile as well.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 18/6/2021
Ignacio O.
Head of Technology
Automoción, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 12/7/2021

"The best version control software to work in a team"

Comentarios: The overall experience is excellent. I strongly recommend it!

Puntos a favor: I think the Pull Request code review and GitHub Actions are the best features of GitHub.

Contras: The issue tracker. I think there is much room to improve here, but on the other hand, I don't expect this from GitHub.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 12/7/2021
Juan arturo J.
Juan arturo J.
Analyst
Desarrollo de programas, 10,000+ empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 28/7/2021

"GitHub: the essential Git service"

Comentarios: I use github for collaboration between several programmers, it's a fast and convenient way of delegating work between us.

Puntos a favor: Github is the most popular git service for all kind of coding.
The large community of developers who use GitHub make it a necessity for everyone who wishes to improve their programming skills.

Contras: Not that friendly for beginners and has a high learning curves.
Needs previous command line knowledge.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 28/7/2021
Mayank T.
Mayank T.
Executive IT
Marketing y publicidad, 1,001-5,000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 13/6/2021

"Great product for code management and project tracking"

Comentarios: It has been great. we are managing all the project in it and the process is very seamless.

Puntos a favor: The best part is the file management system. The way it has been designed its very intuitive and seamless in functioning

Contras: Few options are very confusing and are hidden under menus and are not easily accessible. This needs to be improved.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 13/6/2021
Matej B.
Fullstack Web Developer
Recursos Humanos, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 8/9/2021

"Version control on the cloud"

Puntos a favor: - Free for small teams
- Well known platform for OOS
- Has every feature I need

Contras: GitHub does not have self-hosted version.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 8/9/2021
Usuario verificado
Software Developer
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 5/8/2021

"GitHub: The mothership of source control"

Comentarios: GitHub is the first service I have ever used for source control and I haven't even thought of changing it because it meets more than what you would expect from it. It even has an in-built GUI for people who are not very familiar with Git. I have used it for contributing to open source projects, for keeping track of my own projects, when working with teams and for pipelining the repository to deployment as well. Overall my experience with GitHub on all occasions has been very smooth. I have faced only one small hiccup where a repo I created was not created properly and I could not access it at all. When I contacted support, they replied within the same day and sorted it out. Considering everything I would say that GitHub is the best for source control and its paid versions are very well worth the price.

Puntos a favor: GitHub has so many features and if you are a college student you can easily apply for their educational pack and receive many free packages from other software and free access to GitHub Pro for as long as you are a student. This pack comes with free domains, a key for JetBrains IDEs, Canva Pro and other packages to assist you in application development. In addition to the free services provided by GitHub for college students, it also provides many functionalities for general users. You could easily integrate your codebase to services such as DigitalOcean and Heroku to create pipelines and automatically deploy changes. No more tiresome setting up of servers and bothering with them for every deployment. GitHub also has the functionality of creating pull requests, issues and assigning issues to people. They also have GitHub Projects where you can create Kanban boards and assign tasks to the team members. Pull requests can also be reviewed and comments can be added for specific lines. This is also the home for many open source projects that you can find and contribute. Most companies view your GitHub profile to get an idea of your projects and how you have contributed and worked on projects.

Contras: There really isn't a major feature that you could point out and say is bad. The only downside I would say is, although they do have a free tier, the number of private repositories you could have in that tier is very limited. Many people would say that the commands are hard to get a hang of but this isn't a downside of GitHub, the commands are by Git. Git is inherently complex and to be honest, GitHub does a very good job at trying to simplify it.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 5/8/2021
Usuario verificado
Founder
Marketing y publicidad, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/6/2021

"Good backup and sync solution for solo work"

Comentarios: For solo work I use GitHub to sync my work across multiple workstations and as a backup solution. A few of my project are open source, and thanks to GitHub I've been able to collaborate with people who I wouldn't have met otherwise.

Puntos a favor: It's the go-to solution for hosting open source projects. Mostly everyone has an account there, reducing the friction for collaboration. For solo work it's a free and reliable solution allowing me to sync my repositories across multiple computers.

Contras: When collaborating it can be a bit tricky sometimes to share a link to a specific line in a specific file, and the API can be a bit hard to use sometimes.

Alternativas consideradas: Bitbucket y GitLab

Software anterior: Apache Subversion

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/6/2021
Omar eduardo A.
Omar eduardo A.
SAP Developer
Software informático, 5,001-10,000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 15/5/2021

"Great for teaching coding classes!"

Comentarios: After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Puntos a favor: I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes. To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which is a Mac!) and a desktop computer. With GitHub, I can quickly sync my code and documents between devices and seamlessly pick up were I left off. If I ever make a mistake and need to go back to previous versions of my slides or code, I can quickly restore them with the excellent versioning features. For my students, it is very freeing knowing that every project or problem that we solve during class will be immediately available to them right after class. I helps them concentrate on learning and understanding the programs instead of having to copy everything to their computers.

Contras: The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems. For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Alternativas consideradas: Dropbox Business, Bitbucket y Apache Subversion

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: GitHub is the most reputable repository tool on the market. It uses industry standards and it is very secure. Also, it supports a wide range of programming languages, so it is ideal to host any type of open source software.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 15/5/2021
Fidelis A.
Google developer
Software informático, 501-1,000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 5/3/2021

"GitHub Review 2021"

Comentarios: My overall experience is awesome. Github to me is the best because they are doing lots of work to make it great for developers. The ability to collaborate and commit my code is second to none. Their Desktop version helps me to develop a great android app that I can easily be deployed to GitHub without lifting a finger. It is well integrated into android studio and it makes my coding work easier and faster.

Puntos a favor: Github is a great software for collaborating on coding projects. I use GitHub to create a coding project and store it in a code repository for easy collaboration, editing, and review. I use GitHub to crone open-sourced code projects easily, download and edit as a zip file or forked, which is a great feature that helps me to duplicate other people's projects for further contribution and collaboration. Github has helped me to update/commit my developed and produced code/application at intervals and versions( version control). Using GitHub I was able to host my web app projects for easy review by companies under view. It is easy to install and use both as a desktop and as a cloud software online (web). It can be integrated with hundreds of software and platforms.

Contras: Having used GitHub, I will like to highlight that I am only allowed to recover repositories that are not forked, and this is where public and private repositories come to play. I think the private repositories are not taken seriously because sometimes, we forked repositories that are publicly shown which one may not know if the editor actually keeps it private because if the editor does, I should be able to recover it as long as it has been forked and edited by me. There should also be an option that explains if the root code is deleted so as to avoid loss of everything. This takes lots of time and is under the premium package.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 5/3/2021
Abdelmadjid H.
Developer
Software informático, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 27/2/2021

"An essential tool for any developer"

Comentarios: GitHub is probably one of the most polished platform in existence. I continually evaluate contenders but have yet to find one that offers as much value.

Puntos a favor: GitHub makes managing Git repos a lot easier by providing a fantastic UI and a solid infrastructure. I also love the Package Registry service which fast, reliable, quick to set up and use, and has a fair pricing plan.

Contras: There is very little to dislike about GitHub. I'd like to see more work towards code monetization (for instance by creating a unified platform that takes care of licensing and payments)

Alternativas consideradas: Bitbucket y GitLab

Razones para elegir GitHub: We made the switch when GitHub offered free private Git repositories, in a time when Bitbucket did not.

Software anterior: Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: Private Git repositories and the package registry service (which allows private packages). GitHub has also become the industry standard and its APIs are integrated to more platforms.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 27/2/2021
Pawan P.
Pawan P.
Freelancer
Software informático, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 1/3/2021

"Best web version control"

Comentarios: Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Puntos a favor: I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you can contribute to and also use them on your personal or company projects. Also, it's great when it comes to working in a group, assigning tasks, creating issues, monitoring work progress, etc are great features. I also love the webhook feature to make automatic changes to the production/development environment so we get the latest code changes deployed. Also, creating, merging branches, etc can be done on the web. It's a great place to share your work and get feedback, contributions, and discussion on topics to make the code clean and more useful. Also, it has tons of tools in the marketplace which can be used for continuous integration, deployment, code review, etc to make the work easier. I love to star the projects so that I can view them later and I use it as a bookmarking feature. Also, forking is great to copy a repository with making changes on my own for my desired needs.

Contras: One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 1/3/2021
Ankit P.
Co-Founder
Administración educativa, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 7/10/2020

"Reduced deployment time by a large extent"

Comentarios: Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Puntos a favor: From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Contras: Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Alternativas consideradas: GitLab

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: Various features offered by the product which provides collaboration, version control, access control etc

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 7/10/2020
Naseeb B.
Developer
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 2/10/2020

"This is everything you need when you're on the track of being developer."

Comentarios: It's been more than 2 years since i started using GitHub. Being a web developer i find it very useful for all the developers around the world and i'd highly recommend to all the upcoming beginners too. This is a great way of sharing, contributing and gaining knowledge. We can get lots of support from other developers too in case of their repositories. Another main thing is that, we can form a team and work together to contribute on Github. Anyone who are willing to start coding or codes can easily create a free account on GitHub and start contributing and playing around with code world. This is everything a developer needs! Overall, my experience is too good and still i've been contributing toward Github on daily basis.

Puntos a favor: Due to it's easiness for using, I think this helps to become Github's biggest strengths. It's super reliable, easy to contribute our projects and share among all. It also contains broad set of features and also provides a clean responsive UI for the interaction. Everything's on top regarding it UI. All out repository files are organized easily. Other user's or developers can simply get help from the existing repositories and can leave issues if they face any problems with their code. Here, developers together can contribute single repository which Github helps in keeping track of each by particular author.

Contras: May be conflict management could be more improved. Sometimes searching repositories becomes hard. Search feature is good but not that great. Notification feature is not good, keeps on displaying even if we click on it.[only if the notification is done as instructed, the notification gets removed]. All the projects are Quoted looking upon the maximum number of code used on certain language. [example: i'll be contributing nodejs project then, it doesnot shows the project is in JavaScript language, instead shows HTML] for such case we have to manually fix it all the time.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 2/10/2020
Jason L.
Product Designer
Diseño gráfico, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/9/2020

"As a designer who codes..."

Comentarios: Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Puntos a favor: GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Contras: Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/9/2020
Gabriel F.
Engineering Lead
Seguros, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 23/9/2020

"Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors"

Comentarios: Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great.
You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Puntos a favor: Code review is simply AWESOME.
- The editor works perfectly
- You can suggest changes
- You can co-author pull requests
- You have the codeowners option
- The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved
- It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!!
Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Contras: - The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive
- There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business
- You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward
- No default reviewers for repositories :(
- Some minor UIs issues

Alternativas consideradas: Bitbucket y GitLab

Razones para elegir GitHub: Ease of use and pricing :)

Software anterior: Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: Pricing and ease of use

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 23/9/2020
Matthew P.
Matthew P.
Senior Engineer
Tecnología y servicios de la información, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/8/2020

"It's an industry standard tool for reason"

Comentarios: Very simple to set up and use, and being an industry standard most onboarding developers and engineering teams already know how to use it.

Puntos a favor: Reliable and consistent version control and code collaboration platform. The team management, issue tracking, visibility/privacy control are all top of the line, and of course the underlying "git" hosting is perfect. Introduction of Github Actions only improves the value of the platform.

Contras: I'd like to see more for project management, e.g. ways to better organize issues by priority, themes ("epics") and create scrum, agile and/or kanban influenced views and planning tools. I've heard some folks express concern with Microsoft's acquisition of GitHub, but I don't understand the concern b/c Microsoft has a solid history of operating business-grade tools, and from the date of acquisition we've only seen more-for-your-money price changes.

Alternativas consideradas: Apache Subversion y GitLab

Razones para elegir GitHub: I've worked with team using self-hosted git and subversion. For most cases, I would highly prefer a team simply let Github host it. git is a superior vcs system compared to subversion, and Github.com is the best hosting for git.

Software anterior: Git

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/8/2020
Chris V.
Chief Executive Officer
Software informático, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/6/2020

"Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it"

Comentarios: GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Puntos a favor: GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Contras: GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.

Alternativas consideradas: Bitbucket y GitLab

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: GitHub is the most stable platform, and our engineers are the most known with GitHub. Compared with GitLab and Bitbucket, GitHub has the most available integrations into other solutions, and has the lowest pricing. This all made us making the decision to rely on GitHub.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/6/2020
Usuario verificado
Fund Intern
Administración educativa, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/6/2020

"Works seamlessly - I've used it for 4+ years as a student!"

Comentarios: It's incredibly useful & seamless. Wouldn't use any other product over this.

Puntos a favor: It's incredibly easy to set up & use from a Mac. I store all of my projects in GitHub (I used to store them on Google Drive, but Cloud + Version Control is much better!)

Contras: It would be nice to be able to deploy Jupyter Notebooks to a Github Server where they could be interacted with. I suppose this could be done with the .github.io URL's - but a guide on how to do this would be awesome to advertise.

Alternativas consideradas: Bitbucket

Razones para elegir GitHub: Version control. Being able to store all past iterations of my projects is so helpful.

Software anterior: Google Drive

Razones para cambiar a GitHub: GitHub was a more commonly used product.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/6/2020
Andrei P.
Andrei P.
Lead Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Características y funcionalidades
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    5/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/5/2020

"Popular and fast version control service but with less features than the competition"

Comentarios: I am still currently working with GitHub due to the smooth Heroko and Netlify integrations that saved us a lot of hassle but for any projects which don't benefit from this I use GitLab (which is slower unfortunately). Being such a popular service it was attacked a few times by hackers which lead to some downtime that luckily did not affect our studio.

Puntos a favor: GitHub is home to the majority of the web's open source projects. It was one of the first version control services and it aged pretty well.
The service's website speed is probably one of the best around when it comes to repository hosting services and this is very important as through the website all the information about projects can be found.
There is a lot of searching and navigating to be done within projects so the speed is a big plus.
GitHub also has it's own website hosting service called GitHub Pages which allows people to make their own website. This is great if you are the project owner and would like to link additional information within a look that looks less than a wiki page. GitHub comes with a very easy to use desktop application which is used to manage repositories, both from GitHub as well as the competition's services. Being so popular it has a great deal of integrations into other services, the most important one for me perosnally being the Heroku and the Netlify one. Whatever is pushed to the GitHub repo gets built and sent to Heroku and Netlify. saving up valuable time. These integrations are sometimes available for the competition services too but the steps are much steeper. Another thing that GitHub done right was the monthly progress on the main page showing how many changes were made by the user. This helped with giving people an incentive to keep working every day to have the calendar-like frame green at all times (gamification).

Contras: When I started using GitHub a long time ago (~6 years) the services was very limited if you were a free user. The collaborators were limited and the space was very tiny and on top of everything your projects were not private. This is great for open source developers but for me, I could not allow myself to put game projects up for grabs so I mostly used GitHub for small prototypes.
Late came the option for free users to have private repositories and after that Microsoft bought GitHub extending the limitations.
Unfortunately even with their newest addition to the space of a repository using Large File Storage (LFS), the competition offers more space and a more streamlined workflow for big projects. Also a lot of features are behind a paywall for GitHub while the competition gives them for free, at a cost of slower website speed however.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/5/2020