Opiniones de GameMaker: Studio

Calificación media

  • En general
    4.4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4.4 /5
  • Atención al cliente
    4.4 /5

Sobre GameMaker: Studio

Sistema de desarrollo de juegos multiplataforma con capacidades de arrastrar y soltar, edición de shader incorporada, implicación del usuario y analíticas en tiempo real.

Descubre más sobre GameMaker: Studio

Mostrando 25 opiniones de 74

Andrew P.
Camera Operator | Gaffer
Producción audiovisual, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 25/7/2019

"GameMaker has its niche and does that very well!"

Comentarios: Overall, GameMaker is the easiest for simple games and it lets anyone who has a computer able to make a game!

Puntos a favor: If you are trying to make a simple game like an 8-bit or platformer, this is the video game engine for you. It is simple and to the point making it easy to use this software for absolute beginners in the industry. You don't need a lot of schooling or experience to make a game. I really like how much of this can be sprite based as well. Anyone can edit images and make characters, items, etc based on sprites.

Contras: With any niche software, there are some downsides. GameMaker is very limited on what you can do. It is a place to start making games, but once you want to move onto other ideas, it makes the transition to other engines hard. I also wish GameMaker had a common coding language instead of using its own. This helps prepare for the transition to other engines.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 25/7/2019
David K.
Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    2 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    3/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/5/2020

"Once the gold standard for 2D, though no longer a clear a leader"

Comentarios: It's fine as an introductory software for game development, but it's no longer the best choice even for that.

Puntos a favor: Cross-platform functionality works quite well. Though somewhat counter-intuitive, development paradigm can work well for a limited set of game genres. The YoYo compilers are good.

Contras: It's too expensive for the best features, and the switch between GameMaker Studio and GameMaker Studio 2 was not handled smoothly by YoYo Games.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/5/2020
Usuario verificado
Software
Desarrollo de programas, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    3 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 7/5/2019

"GameMaker: Studio is a great way to get a foot in the door of game design!"

Comentarios: Overall GameMaker: Studio is a fine tool for new developers, but it will eventually leave you wanting more, since it is quite a simple engine compared to its competitors.

Puntos a favor: GameMaker: Studio was my first entry into the world of game making. It's drag and drop programming interface makes it easy to make simple games, while also having the skill-ceiling to create magnificent 2d-games. It's simple interface makes it easy for new developers to dapple in game making. It utilizes it's own programming language that is a form of simplified javascript, that features simple syntax.

Contras: The ability to create 3D projects is lacking, and it's hard to recommend it over Unity, unless you are a complete novice to programming and game design. It does not provide the same capabilities as its competition, but maybe GameMaker: Studio 2 can make up for that.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 7/5/2019
Usuario verificado
Summer Intern
Software informático, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 20/10/2020

"Accessible, Full-Stack 2D Game Development"

Comentarios: GameMaker Studio is great to learn basic 2D game design.

Puntos a favor: GameMaker is an easy to use, accessible 2D game engine. GameMaker provides a full-stack approach to game development, providing tools for programming, sound, logic, level design and management, and compilation. Given the price of the program, you get a lot of value for money. There are numerous tutorials, guides, and open-source projects to work off of, allowing for the rapid prototyping of games. GameMaker's drag and drop programming tool allows beginners access to powerful logic tools for their games.

Contras: If you're trying to make 3D games, other game engines such as Unity and Unreal Engine provide much more support for those kinds of games. Support for other platforms besides Windows require some costly additions to the program.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 20/10/2020
Denis D.
Ph.D. student
Investigación, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    3 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    6/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/2/2019

"It boils down to your background"

Comentarios: While it's true that GML is Turing Complete, and therefore it's technically possible to write any algorithm in it, the language gets rid of more "complicated" stuff from more low level-languages like C (e.g. pointers and structures) without proper replacements. It's factually easier to write many algorithms in C than in GML. Also, there is a reason why more higher-level, industry standard, languages provide more features than low-level languages. Despite that, a portion of GML community seem to think of such features as useless addendum. Without community pressure, GML is today about the same as it was in the first version of GM Studio I've tried, many years ago (version 6, before GM belonged to yoyo games). As an experienced programmer, I grew very frustrated with GML. It would be more productive for me to write the core of the game in other languages and interface it for GameMaker through an extension. But at such a point, it would be easier, cheaper and even more productive to abandon GMS altogether. However, I think that a programmer can have fun with GameMaker if they see the software itself as a game and the limitations of the language as a challenge. After all, there are many fun games in the market about programming in Assembly. For artists, non-programmers and inexperienced programmers, I think GML would not be a no-go. Yet, these people would still benefit from the overall very focused and productive toolset GMS offers to successfully finish their projects.

Puntos a favor: GameMaker: Studio (GMS) is a very feature-complete suite and the included toolset (including the programming language, GML) pushes towards greater productivity.
It's very easy to find and install extensions through its integrated marketplace, and extensions can be implemented in other languages instead of GML.
Shaders can be written in GLSL ES, which is industry standard.
It's possible to export the game to many different platforms.

Contras: Although GMS indeed pushes towards being more productive, it also promotes recklessness. In other words, the final product can have low maintainability.
Each different export target has its own price. The final cost can stack pretty high depending on which platforms the game is planned to launch on.
GameMaker's scripting language (GML) is very bare bones. Its standard library also lacks useful functions for geometry. For example, while it has a function to check whether two segments of line are intersecting, it does not has a function to efficiently cast a ray from a point towards a directions and check which objects the ray intersects.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/2/2019
Abhishek T.
Leader
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    3 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/6/2020

"Another fine game engine"

Comentarios: It was pleasant to work with gamemaker. And openly speaking I would surely recommend it to others also. But they should work little bit more on 3d sector also

Puntos a favor: I have used many different game engines and like others,it is also quite different from others.
The best thing which I like about it is ease to arrange assets for the games(for example like in Gdevelop if you disturb the main folder where the assets were kept then assume that you almost lost your source code. But it does not happen here)
Also there are inbuilt many features (especially for 2d game development) which I love from the core of my heart
And last thing which simply blows my mind away is their community ( you can simply check on twitter) . The community is highly active and many users keep on posting what they are currently making in gamemaker

Contras: The biggest issue is its cost . The thing which makes me furious is that one has to pay for different platforms ( different payment for mobile platform and different payment for desktop platform)
And going ahead their own developed language-GML is not something which I really approve. In my opinion they should have used other language like lua etc
Also the thing which sometimes scare me is its future. They have rarely talked about their roadmap for the game engine. And I strongly believe that they should do it
And also they never focused on 3d sector (but their 2d sector is awesome)

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/6/2020
Joseph M.
Artist and writer
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/1/2019

"Good entry-level game dev tool; also useful for any level of experience for prototyping"

Comentarios: I've used GM:S to create game prototypes for a few clients, who used those prototypes to hire a programmer for a different engine. I've also worked on two simple mobile games with GM:S.

Puntos a favor: This is a review for the original Game Maker Studio, not GM:S2. Game Maker is fantastic for rapidly prototyping games, and this is what I feel is its greatest strength. The easy drag and drop interface allows you to get a simple mockup running in under an hour. It helps to learn GML, the software's programming language, but not necessary at all. It is, however, also a versatile tool for development overall. The ability to publish to so many different platforms without adjusting (much, if any) code is fantastic. It feels like a strong entry point for anyone wanting to get into game or app development (yes - apps too - you can use this to make things other than games for sure). One of the greatest pros for GM:S is also its availability of sample files from the community. You can use them like templates to jumpstart a mockup and get things rolling even faster.

Contras: Everything about the native editor is just lacking. Back in the day, when Game Maker was brand new, it was actually pretty good and comparable to other software of the era. Now it's just clunky and hard to use. That's probably one of the reasons GM:S2 exists! Also, games exported for HTML5 tend to be slow and buggy. I am told this is more an issue with HTML5 and some browsers, but an issue nonetheless.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/1/2019
Georg c. L.
Vice President
Juegos de ordenador, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 5/2/2019

"User Friendly & Rich Community"

Comentarios: I got into GameMaker as a hobby, and find it very enjoyable, perhaps one day I'll upgrade to Unity or Unreal Engine, but for just learning and building for your own enjoyment, it's a great little software. There have been some super successful GM games released, so don't let it's limitations deter you.

Puntos a favor: For an absolute beginner, this is a great tool to learn game design and coding language. Although it's GameMaker own language, GML, it shares a lot of similarities with other more universal coding languages, and is a good introduction to programming. Even if you have no desire to program, you can use GameMaker's built in drag-drop code features, that let you make simple interactions between objects. Using GM1.4, I successfully created a simple "balloon pop" app for android, so my daughter could play. IT had a lot of polish and GM made it relatively easy to build, and launch on the Android Play Store. I've since upgraded to GM2, and am working on a more robust game, and find the whole process very enjoyable.

Contras: It is a very limited software, as it only handles 2D game applications, and the modules for launching on other platforms (iOS, android, etc...) are not cheap. There's also been some nvidia bugs, that cause it to crash occasionally, but GM2 has a decent auto-save system, and I've never lost any progress. Using repository services helps as well.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 5/2/2019
Ahsan K.
Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Prueba gratis
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 2/8/2019

"GameMaker studio Review"

Comentarios: I used GameMaker tool for the development of 2D games of andriod. If some one has to start coding they must start from gamemaker then upgrade to unity etc

Puntos a favor: GameMaker is very good for thoes who just started to do game development. One of the best tool for coding. This tool has its own language, GML. We use GameMaker for the development of andriod games. The interface of this tool is very user friendly.we can download the extensions very easily. The randering speed of this tool is quite impressive as compared to other tools.

Contras: The main con of this tools is that we can only develop 2D games.Gamemaker is a limited tool. In the lattest version I have some problems while coding it gets crashed but satisfied with the auto save function so that I can't lose my progress

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 2/8/2019
Wendy J.
Interior designer
Arte y artesanía, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Prueba gratis
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/7/2019

"For the creative and strategic minds"

Comentarios: I was impressed with this software. I think people that are new at game making will really enjoy it. It's not to far from Microsoft paint, so if you can use that, this will be pretty easy for you

Puntos a favor: This software has some tutorials at the beginning that are very helpful. I highly suggest watching before you begin. The tools for creating are wonderful. You can create and shape and in any colors. From the beginning, I tried to make a character and it was fairly easy. Everything is right there at your fingertips. I like that it has a variety of ways to get help if you need it.

Contras: It was a little difficult to get it to download and install, but it did finally work

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/7/2019
Joseph P.
Game Designer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/8/2018

"An excellent way to get your foot in the door of game creation."

Comentarios: GameMaker is the reason I've even been able to work as a game designer in the first place. Having started with pre-studio versions as far back as 2004, GameMaker provided me a tool set to not only learn and iterate on basic design principles, but learn rudimentary programming and come to grips with the fundamentals of developing video game software. Providing and easy outlet to explore those fundamentals has always been GameMaker's strength, and it's something the product has only gotten better at with time. With the releases of Studio and especially Studio 2, GameMaker now has as much to offer serious developers as it does beginners, providing a streamlined framework to build professional 2D titles, and I couldn't be happier to have gotten my start where I did.

Puntos a favor: With GameMaker: Studio, it's relatively painless to get a simple idea to the basic prototype phase. It allows you to be as hands on or hands off as you'd like with some of the lower-level operations of the game, and while you'll never have as much control as an original engine built from scratch, being able to manage things like instance ordering is much-appreciated and well ahead of some other game development alternatives. I've also always been a big fan of GameMaker's general layout and interface, and think its structured in such a way that lends itself very well to being a teaching tool.

Contras: GameMaker: Studio isn't really equipped for 3D software development, unlike some of its contemporaries, even with the latest releases of Studio 2. GML's syntax is also often too loose, which can be helpful for beginners, but often encourages bad code-writing practices for those who have yet to use any other languages.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/8/2018
Ronald L.
Content Manager
1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 1-5 meses
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    3 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/6/2018

"An engine that feels really easy to learn but it's hard to understand due to the lack of updated doc"

Comentarios: It helped me save money because the license is so much cheaper than paying a % of the total revenue as other engines require.

Puntos a favor: One of the most beautiful engines for small studios. A lot of the things are very intuitive. You have the option of use nodes for the code or coding it by hand. If you go for the 2nd option, you don't need an external application to edit your code: all happens in the same engine interface! The basic tutorials are all you need to understand most of the general things you'll be using, and it's been used for so many small indie devs that most of the questions you have are already answered out there. The engine will run in Nintendo Switch very soon!!

Contras: It's expensive. The FREE trial version allows you only to create 10 objects which is a painful joke. If you want to give your prototype a decent try you'll have to pay for a permanent licence (only for desktop, web and mobile). The ULTIMATE package provides a 12 months licence for all console platforms including ps4 and xbox. Another decisive element is that documentation was not up to date. I found a lot of deprectaed methods in the official documentation. Some more advanced stuff have to be learned by try and error or watching lots of videos until you find one that's actually using the same version you're using. So this engine is great for small teams but you absolutely require to have some experienced members on the team that helps you to get the best out of it. For me, paying to try it is not worth it.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/6/2018
Usuario verificado
Java Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 13/11/2018

"Amazing product"

Comentarios: It's the tool that got me in programming - GML was the first programming language I learned. I published about 10 games on Google Play developed with Game Maker Studio.

Puntos a favor: I've been using Game Maker for years and the build-in scripting language (GML) is really easy to master. As a product with so much history there is a lot of help content and guides on the web. It also allows exports for various platforms.

Contras: Unlike Unity, the free version is really stripped from functionality and every platform you wish to export to has to be purchased as a "module".

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 13/11/2018
Christopher H.
Ceo
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/2/2019

"GameMaker: Studio"

Comentarios: I use it for all my 2d games, its great and very easy to use.

Puntos a favor: Lots of features, they update and add more all the time. They have a nice rendering system and effects that was added recently. It gets better and better with each update, its very simple to use, the language is easy to use, and its super simple to add in your own graphics and scripts.

Contras: Now they offer a program for each platform, and they each cost a ton of money. That's the only con I have with it at this time.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/2/2019
Usuario verificado
Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 23/9/2019

"An excellent start for game creation"

Comentarios: As a game developer I created my first actual game using GameMaker: Studio.

Puntos a favor: One of the greatest advantages of GameMaker: Studio is how easy it is to convert a simple idea into an actual prototype of a game, which makes the application a perfect platform for beginners. Another aspect of the software that is really beneficial for new creators is that you need little to no knowledge of programming language in order to start your first project. It is also very easy and requires minimal changes in the actual code to publish a game to different platforms. The Game Maker community is full of tutorials and test codes which can help you to develop your own game.

Contras: The product is quite expensive and the free trial of the software does not provides you with all of its tools.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 23/9/2019
Justin H.
Animator/Editor/Instructor
Aprendizaje en línea, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/1/2018

"As an animator/instructor I've both used and review courses on Game Maker Studio"

Puntos a favor: Hands down, Game Maker Studio is one of the top development packages for making 2D games, and pretty good one for 3D games as well. In addition, as a beginner developer, you really cant beat the tools set offered in Game Maker Studio. Their visual scripting system couldn't be any easier and will allow you to piece together a game with little (or no) programming at all - a really awesome feature for those who are intimidated with learning a programming language. Fortunately, as expected, you can program within GMS as well, so the option is there if you need to go beyond what is offered with their visual node system. In addition, GMS is arguably the best bang for your buck when it comes to development engines. Hands down it beast the competition here, and this alone makes it stand out above any of its competitors.

Contras: Sure, some of the 3D gaming features aren't as robust as other engines, but everything you need is here. Also, as strong as the visual node-based script system is, there are times where it cant do everything - no necessarily a con given how powerful and amazing this system is, but it is worth mentioning. Overall this is a great engine and should be considered by any beginner or indie developer.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/1/2018
Usuario verificado
Software/Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/5/2019

"Super Easy!"

Comentarios: Overall, I think GameMaker is a great option to get started making games. I would go back and use it whenever I want to make a simple game because it makes it so easy to do so.

Puntos a favor: What I love most about GameMaker Studio is that it is extremely simple to learn how to make games. It isn't overwhelming like other programs. It is a great tool for beginners to get started and there are so many tutorials to go with it. It was the first program that I ever used to make games and I don't know how I could've learned so much without it.

Contras: What I least liked about the software is that you are limited by what you can do with it compared to other software to make games. There are ways to expand it if you have experience but there is still a whole lot that it is missing.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/5/2019
Usuario verificado
Digital Marketing Specialist
Hospital y atención sanitaria, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 18/1/2018

"Fun, great for a newbie or casual user who wants to learn fundamentals of game design"

Puntos a favor: This software makes game creation accessible for a more casual user or someone who wants to learn some of the fundamentals of game design in a hands-on way. It's more complex than other designers without being overwhelming, which makes it a good fit for a beginner who doesn't want to be boxed in by something too simple or too complex. As a result you get more flexibility with what you do and depth to what you learn, provided you are motivated to do so and can teach yourself things to use in the program. There are a number of games online that were created with GameMaker so you can see what people have made. I don't use the program as often as I used to, but I still really value the things I learned while using it. I have a greater appreciation and understanding of game design as a whole thanks to GameMaker.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 18/1/2018
Mariano C.
Director
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    3 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 12/12/2017

"Great experience, YoYo's GMS is perfect for smaller gamedev studios and individual devs alike"

Comentarios: A full time job! And some scripting/game design skills!

Puntos a favor: Ease of use and how quick you can actually have a prototype going. I have been using it for years now, and I get paid to develop games with it!

Contras: Console support, 3D support (this is a 2D game engine), small little quirks like built-in variables being non-optional, etc.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 12/12/2017
Usuario verificado
Director
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    3 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/12/2017

"If you're looking to make a 2D game, GameMaker is the way to go"

Comentarios: I have over 5000 hours with GameMaker and still going. I've learned how to make games with it. If you're looking into getting into the industry then this is a great learning tool. The community is also one of the best and can help you figure out almost anything to help your game get finished.

Puntos a favor: It's easy to use and has a fantastic community that can help you with whatever you need. It also has a free version for you to try out if GameMaker is right for you.

Contras: Although the community is very responsive, yoyo games, in my experience, is not. There are still some emails that I've sent to them that have yet to be addressed. Also, GameMaker isn't as strong as other engines. Other engines can give you more freedom of control.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/12/2017
Usuario verificado
Sales Representative
Telecomunicaciones
Ha utilizado el software durante: 1-5 meses
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/2/2018

"Perfect 2D game dev software coming from other 3D programs"

Puntos a favor: I've used plenty of other game dev programs before, but nothing was too great for 2D development. I decided to try Game Maker at a recommendation from a friend, and I loved it immediately. With my prior knowledge I found this program so simple to use, but I'm sure that beginners would love it as well. It can do just about ANYTHING you want it to, you just have to find the particular way GM wants you to accomplish that.

Contras: Of course, this is primarily a 2D software, so if someone is looking for 3D programming it's best to look elsewhere.
I also think I confused the particular customer service rep I was dealing with when I was asking a particularly technical question about sprite animation. I eventually independently found the answer, and it may just have been the one reps knowledge or my wording that was the problem is I won't knock them too much for that.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/2/2018
David B.
Computer systems administor
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 20/4/2018

"Great Game engine to create 2D games."

Comentarios: easy to use and create 2d games that i have always wanted to make.

Puntos a favor: Easy learning curve, Has lots of tutorials that are easy to follow with code and demos you can download. Lots of resources to create the games you want. There is a large active community to help you when you need it. There a large marketplace to buy assets for your game. The software has all the latest technology to make your game design easier to do with some automation. You can export your game to play on all platforms, Windows, android, ios, linux and more.

Contras: Tech support can be a little slow to answer ticket questions. The add on to export to mobile are not included in the main software and have to be purchases as separate addons.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 20/4/2018
Rolando J.
streamer
Medios de difusión, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    2 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/8/2019

"One of the most known game engines"

Comentarios: So far I like it just cause the tutorials are simple to follow and you dont have to code to make simple games, it also has its own coding language thats not hard to learn. Im stuck on the old version tho since i cant afford the heavy price tag on the latest one.

Puntos a favor: This game engine is probs the most used 2d one, so there is a bunch of content located everywhere that helps you keep up to date and know what to do.

Contras: when ever it updates to a new version like game maker 1.x to 2.x you will have to rebuy the license once again. each module cost more like if you want to export to another platform good luck

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/8/2019
Andres R.
Desarrollador de software
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/3/2018

"If you are willing to pay for it, it's great!"

Puntos a favor: The paid version gives you access to a lot of libraries you can implement to your game, it's the best system if you are looking to work on a 2D game.

Contras: If you are looking to make a 3D game, game maker won't work for you, the free version doesn't liet you do much. In order to be able to work decently you'll need the paid version.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/3/2018
Andrew F.
Lead Developer/Artist
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/2/2019

"Great tools for creating 2D games for multiple platforms"

Comentarios: I've trialed using GameMaker: Studio in house when we were considering developing a 2D title. The toolset was quite impressive, and it was easy to get started with a simple game concept. We keep track of the software as it's developed, in case we look to use it for an upcoming project.

Puntos a favor: GameMaker Studio is a surprisingly fully featured game engine for creating feature and art-rich 2D games. The more recent integrations of new animation and image editing tools are very welcome, especially for the GameMaker price tag.

Contras: I haven't encountered any major cons with the software yet. For the time I've spent with it, it's met my expectations, though I haven't shipped a product with it.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/2/2019