Opiniones de Unreal Engine

Calificación media

  • En general
    4.8 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4.1 /5
  • Atención al cliente
    4.5 /5

Sobre Unreal Engine

Suite de desarrollo de juegos para la creación de películas en 3D, visualización, simulaciones de entrenamiento con Visual scripting, AI, animación de persona, etc.

Descubre más sobre Unreal Engine

Mostrando 25 opiniones de 234

Luis daniel R.
Lead Application Developer
Software informático, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    2 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    2 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/1/2020

"The best choice for ambitious 3D Games"

Comentarios: I really liked using Unreal and prototyping quick ideas. It's a really flexible engine and really powerful. Even the testing stuff look and run great. I wish there was a more open community that helped each other out or introduced new users to advanced knowledge of the engine that you will only earn with time by using it.

Puntos a favor: Unreal Engine has grown over the years and it's now more friendly to single developers, indy movie produces and indy game studios as well. It has a robust toolset that allows you to create 3D games with one of the best engines for realistic looks, yet you can use models that fit your artistic vision, ex: stylized games. If you want an example of how small studios can make a good unreal game, look for Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice and if you want to look for AAA Games that look extremely realistic or movie quality, look at Gears of War 5 or Kingdom Hearts 3. Unreal also has an asset store where you can buy models or tools to help you quickly build or prototype your game and it has a blueprint system that allows you to program your game logic without knowing how to write in C++. The engine also runs in a myriad of platforms including mobile.

Contras: One of the downsides of Unreal is how complex it is when comparing it to Godot or Unity. The community for it, it's very small and a lot of the people who have knowledge on Unreal are tied behind studio contracts and maybe they're not allowed to share or help around in the web much, but when you look at Unity, there's dozens and dozens of websites, youtubers, courses and resources that you could basically build a game with no knowledge, but in Unreal it will take a lot of time and expertise on what you're doing. Also one last thing, you can build 2D games in Unreal, but you're better off using GameMaker or Unity for 2D Games. The community and engine support is just bigger and bettter.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/1/2020
David K.
Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/5/2020

"It's a technical marvel, but know what you're getting into."

Comentarios: Unreal Engine is always interesting to use in game jams for graphical fidelity, though at times Unreal Engine projects can become a mess when working on commercial games. People need to know accurately what they're getting into when building a new game in Unreal, because for some it's overwhelming, for others it's like trying to get a game out of modding a first-person shooter, and then for some it ends up being a good choice for their game. Once your whole team is experienced with it, Unreal Engine can be quite good, depending on which genre of game you're going for.

Puntos a favor: Unreal Engine games are excellently visually impressive, and the cross-platform functionality is very good. Even though it's more technically impressive, it's still more stable than Unity. The updates are frequent and prioritize bug fixes more accurately than Unity, and Unreal's pricing is certainly second-to-none.

Contras: A lot of aspects of the editor are unnecessary to make a good game and end up getting in the way more than anything else. The occasional crashes are always saddening, but it's still more stable than most of Unreal's competition.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/5/2020
Vishrut S.
Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 29/11/2020

"The best AAA game engine for professionals"

Comentarios: We needed to create a good looking third person adventure prototype quickly. With its out of the box awesome graphics setup and blueprints came to our rescue. We were able to create a satisfying, good-looking prototype within a couple of weeks because of Unreal. So, whenever graphics play an important role in games, the choice will be Unreal.

Puntos a favor: The most prominent feature Unreal Engine offers you is its fantastic graphical prowess. Even without extensive work, you get AAA quality graphics setup ready for you to unleash your imagination on. The lighting, the shadows, the rendering, it just works. You get some beautiful visuals in your games if you spend a little time tinkering around, without much pain. And its Blueprints feature is the best in the industry, enabling you to get up and running very quickly to get started on creating prototypes and even full featured games. And both of these features eclipse any offering offered by any free to use game engines. If you need the best and the greatest, Unreal Engine is the way to go.

Contras: The learning curve could and should be improved for Unreal Engine. Even with previous knowledge of C++, learning the nuances and the ways of Unreal C++ was no easy task. And, Blueprints, although really easy once you get the hang of it, is kind of hard to get at first. To remedy this, Unreal must provide more resources and learning materials. Another of my major concern is that mobile game development seems like just an afterthought on this engine. The Console/PC development is the tops, but deploying to mobile is a hard task.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 29/11/2020
Faith S.
associate
Juegos de ordenador, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    2 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 6/8/2018

"Great tool"

Puntos a favor: Really great tool for game development with limitless possibilities.

Contras: Steep learning curve, its hard to get the hang of.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 6/8/2018
Abhishek T.
Founder
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/9/2020

"A game engine for graphics nerd !!!"

Comentarios: It is brolly. I am currently using it for a 3d puzzle game. I am really excited about it !!!

Puntos a favor: I will list it's pros in following points:-
1.) Super excellent graphics:- the game engine is meant for this. And even better, this will become more better in the future
2.) Free of cost:- the game engine costs nothing ! You will only be charged when your annual earning are more than $1 million dollars ( I am even ready to pay more to face that day)
3.) Huge team:- unreal engine has many employees to care care of the engine. This factor is important during bug hunting
4.) Tested platform:- unreal engine has been used for many AAA games and nowadays even studios are also using it for movie production

Contras: 1.) C++ :- this is quite a controversial point. For some it is a boon but for some it is a backdrop. And in my opinion other languages should also be offered for game development
2.) Blueprint is still not mature. It requires much more work
3.) Game engine is very heavy. Requires powerful computer to run
4.) Compilation takes a good amount of time
5.) UI could have been better

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/9/2020
Sean U.
Office Manager
Instituciones religiosas, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 6/6/2019

"Unreal Engine is amazingly powerful!"

Comentarios: Downloading Unreal Engine 4 has been a life changer. I've always loved games and wanted to create my own. As far back as RPG Maker games (Super Nintendo), I was crafting story-lines and choosing the right sprites to convey my story. Eventually I started learning to code using Adobe Flash's Action Script language and went into GameMaker: Studio briefly before I discovered how easy to use Unreal Engine was. Since then I have had complete control over every aspect of my game creation and it has been glorious. I highly recommend Unreal Engine to anyone who has had the slightest inkling of that game maker itch. If you aren't sure, Download it and mess around, its absolutely free.

Puntos a favor: - Top of the line.
- Free to use until you begin making money, and even then you still make a large percentage.
- Unreal engine's node system makes it easy to accomplish what would take months of learning to write code to do.
- Plethora of easy to follow tutorials on YouTube.
- Your imagination is the limit.
- UI is neatly presented.

Contras: - With everything that you can do in Unreal, it only makes sense that you need a powerful machine to run it properly. Even then, my personal Microsoft Surface 3 (its old I know) can run Unreal on low settings enough to still work on my game.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 6/6/2019
Michael H.
Computer animation subcontractor
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 2/1/2021

"Easy to use, with wide variety of games already in the engine; needs better community support"

Comentarios: I've enjoyed it, and have created some fun 3d environments. As with most EG resources, its dependable and gets the job done.

Puntos a favor: There's already a wide array of games available to run in the engine. Since its so widely deployed already, the array of available games for sampling and ideas are endless. I also like how they constantly provide updates and patches for bug fixes, sometimes multiple times a week. There really isnt any way to beat the pricing, unless a platform is going to pay you to use their engine ( LOL)

Contras: The editor is more complicated that Photoshop's tool set, if that's possible! So the learning curve is HUGE!
There's a ton of options that are not relevant to current projects, so the tool set should be dynamic rather than static.
For an engine this widely used, it's baffling that there is not a better online community for support, ideas, and think-tanking. If Epic can't develop their own, they should fund some 3rd party projects.
Wish they had better 2d tools.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 2/1/2021
Bill K.
Personal
Diseño gráfico, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 6/11/2020

"The one that create Fortnite"

Comentarios: Great opportunity to use the same engine that created graphically beautiful games and very popular games.

Puntos a favor: It made arguably the most popular game and is able to constantly feed an audience with new features. You can get started for free; however, you definitely need to be trained in the UI. If you have the time and resources, definitely go for it.

Contras: Why did Epic Games have to pick a fight with Apple. Apple is punishing all users of Unreal Engine from updating their games so that's not cool but hopefully it'll blow over and we can update the games.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 6/11/2020
Muhammad azharudin A.
Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/11/2020

"Best Game Engine for HD Game Development"

Comentarios: I am still learning to use the Unreal Engine, in my opinion the features are very complete.

Puntos a favor: What I like about the Unreal Engine is that it provides very complete features in making HD games. The blueprint feature is also very helpful for new developers who are more interested in drag and drop programming languages.

Contras: Too heavy and UI too hard to understand. But the Unreal Engine is intended for already reliable game studios. Not suitable for new developers who are still in the learning stage of game development.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/11/2020
Imad K.
Owner
Marketing y publicidad, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/10/2020

"One of the greatest engines in the game development industry"

Comentarios: the experience is great so far , been using it for 2 years now , i'd recommend it to anyone interested in creating 3D games

Puntos a favor: Its easy to use even for beginners with its blueprint visual scripting system
The graphics quality is amazing
It has many free assets

Contras: It demands high system requirements
It has a steep learning curve that takes some effort and time

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/10/2020
Andrei P.
Lead Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    2 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/5/2020

"Extraordinary game engine for complex 3D games but pretty bad for small 2D projects"

Comentarios: Unreal Engine 4 is great and we love it because we're indie and we don't really want to have more expenses that we require. It's basically a full program with everything you need for 3D game development.
Their asset store with free and paid assets can save up so much time! And the animation blending tool is amazing, if you can find it cause of the heavy interface that is.
Prototyping can be kinda easily done using the blueprints and it could have no coding involved if one chooses so.

Puntos a favor: Unreal Engine is an industry standard application for creating complex 3D games.
The pricing is great for indies as UE4 takes a rev share only if the product goes above a revenue threshold. As with UE5 that threshold will be 1 mil $ and let's face it, what indie game will make it so far? And then it's supposedly 5%.
UE4 has everything you need for big 3D projects:
* coding close to the machine in C++ so you can go almost as deep as you want
* the software itself can be shippe with the source code so you can alter it
* if you prefer a less code heavy approach you can use their blueprint editor which acts like a flowchart
* great animation tool with easy to use blending
* free forever assets from the UE4 team and as well as from the community monthly (this is really amazing compared to the competition, you can just hoard assets for a whole year and when you decide to get into it you'll have so many free things to choose from already)
* easy networking and they don\t ask that you use any of their services
* a lot of guides and tutorials both from the UE4 team as well as from the community
* a mature community (compared to say Unity which got a lot of their developers through viral youtubers showcasing games made in Unity)
* a lot of paid (and free) assets to choose from

Contras: Unreal Engine being so complex and close to the machine requires a lot of time even for the most basic of actions unless you have a super powerful computer and I think this is the biggest con with the software.
Other cons are the following:
* bugs, as the competition has them too, though it seems to me that UE4 has a bit more
* crashes, it crashes more than Unity at least on my computer which is not too powerful actually
* would have big problems running on laptops compared to the competition (Unity)
* weird interface, not too consistent
* bulky interface, a lot of buttons everywhere and I find myself not using half of them
* big installation size which can become a problem if you keep a few versions up (to open different projects and not have to migrate them)
* very rarely, assets from the store are discovered as being fraudulent
* wonky for 2D, a project like that needs way more work than Unity
* launcher is kinda laggy

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/5/2020
Ali C.
Lead Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    2 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    5/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 14/5/2020

"Unreal Engine is a game engine full of capability, but at the cost of a steep learning curve"

Comentarios: Overall, my experience with Unreal Engine has been quite good, but challenging. I'm able to create very visually stunning prototypes and projects using its Blueprints system (since I do not use C++) but for larger projects, I would probably choose a different engine that's more suited to my needs. For larger teams with prior Unreal experience, this would definitely be the engine of choice. I have also learned a lot using Unreal Engine and learning more is always valuable, even if you switch products.

Puntos a favor: Unreal Engine is a fantastic and beautiful game engine, and its clear Epic have taken huge steps into improving their engine from the days of Unreal Development Kit. There are two main things I like most about Unreal Engine. First is their visual scripting system known as Blueprints (previously known as Kismet in Unreal Development Kit). Blueprints allow users to create gameplay and scripting events without writing any C++ code, using a drag and drop visual node-based editor. It is intuitive, quick to test and very easy to use for those who do not wish to write C++. Very useful for setting up and prototyping game events and logic quickly. It is entirely possible to create an entire project using these Blueprints alone. Secondly, the sheer scope of what you can do in Unreal Engine is to be admired. For any game development task, Unreal allows you to do it right out of the box. Creating shaders, levels, game logic, mechanics, custom graphics, almost anything you can think of when it comes to game development, Unreal Engine has a ready to use tool to create it. I believe this to be a valid reason why so many gaming and virtual reality companies choose Unreal for their projects.

Contras: With all of the capability of Unreal Engine, ther main thing I like least about this software is its sheer learning curve. Unreal does have tools to build right out of the box - however, learning all of them takes a very long time, with the exception of Blueprints. It is not helped by a user interface that isn't particularly intuitive, unless you know the ins and outs of working with it, which can take a considerable amount of time. Again, their visual scripting system known as Blueprints is an exception to this. Each of its tools is complex and thus, can take time away from development. With that being said, there are countless tutorials and Epic has created a very helpful online manual for all of these tools but even then, in comparison to other engines, it can be intimidating.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 14/5/2020
Rob H.
Designer / Owner
Marketing y publicidad, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    2 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 27/2/2020

"Unreal Engine opens new worlds for design, literally."

Comentarios: My overall experience with UE has been great. There are a lot of good tutorials and courses at places like Udemy.com. Watch for the sales and get the courses for $10-$15. They are really good. Coming to UE having used 3ds Max for 25-years made my entry into it easier. But, even if you've never done any 3d, it's pretty intuitive. It will take some time to get proficient, but like all powerful software, you have to pay your dues to get good at it. Just touch it a little bit each week. I'm getting into VR and I've been creating architectural interiors for a client. They look nearly as photoreal as what I can do in 3ds Max with VRay and in some aspects, they look better. Best of all, it's Real Time Rendering, meaning, no waiting for days for renders to complete. Lastly, you'll need a decent computer to work efficiently. Your cheap game laptop won't cut it. But if you have a fairly strong desktop with a good processor, decent video adapter, 16+GB Ram and fast hard drives, you'll be good to go.

Puntos a favor: Unreal Engine gives me the ability to visualize very realistic environments in a way that was previously impossible or extremely time-consuming. With Real-Time Rendering poised to take over the world, Unreal Engine will be there to usher it in.

Contras: Learning to do complex coding in Blueprints is a huge learning curve. If you don't have a degree in programming it can be daunting, even as it's billed as being a way for non-programmers to code things in UE. It's not difficult to learn to click the buttons and navigate to what you need, it's learning the logic so you know "what" you need and how to wire it. Sure, you can program without knowing how to code C++ by heart, but, if you don't understand coding logic, you'll be as lost as I was when I started. Stick with it though, it will come if you keep plugging away. I'm still just scratching the surface after a year, but I've learned enough that can actually do some complex things now. To be fair though, this is not really a "Con." It's just the nature of very powerful software. Anything that can do magical things takes some time and dedication to learn. And the fact that the 'Blueprint' feature exists, non-programmers can, in time, actually do complex things that they would never have been able to do if UE required only C++ to code things.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 27/2/2020
Judah M.
Game Designer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    2 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 3/7/2019

"Great for advanced game development"

Comentarios: For a while it was our primary engine and it served us really well. But, over time our needs just got a little too much, and writing custom extensions in C++ got too out of hand, so we switched back over to Unity/

Puntos a favor: For starters, almost any 3D game made in Unreal Engine looks beautiful. By default it applies a ton of Post Processing effects. (See Cons).
As opposed to other engines, almost any feature you could want is Built right into the engine itself. No need for external packages such as visual scripting, shader making, etc. These tools make it easy enough for a beginner to pick up, but are still great for advanced use in full studios.

Contras: Well, for one, the system requirements are much higher than Unity's. This means that you can't run it on any old computer. The other frustrating thing is that the language is C++, making scripting a little difficult to grasp at times. Additionally, the pricing is annoying too. It's free to use, but you have to share 5% of revenue. For an indie studio this can come out to be a significant loss.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 3/7/2019
Usuario verificado
Line Producer & Sysops Admin
Juegos de ordenador, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/4/2019

"Unreal is the engine of choice for advanced 3D projects"

Comentarios: I recommend Unreal for any Studio that doesn't need an in-house engine and wants to work on 3D heavy projects. This engine will allow any Studio with the right resources, to create a project that could easily compete with bigger Studios. It's easily accessible, cheap, powerful and has a great history and support to it.

Puntos a favor: Being based on an existing game, and evolving since the earlier ages of 3D games, Unreal3D is the perfect match for any Studio which doesn't want to build, maintain and optimize its own in-house Engine. The expertise of Epic, the number of users worldwide and the multiple layers of development allows many different users to access and create assets/features easily. The Engine comes up with a great online tutorial and basic project within the engine, allowing anyone to play around and create prototypes easily. Blueprints are also a great way for anyone to experiment with behaviors and mechanics, without any code knowledge. When getting deeper into the production of a project, the possibility to turn those blueprints into actual C++ code, offers even more optimization possibilities to the developers. The access to a lot of plugins, assets and blueprints on the Unreal Marketplace is also a great way to share knowledge and allow projects to move forward.

Contras: The Engine is heavy and demands a powerful computer. This is a mandatory investment if you want to push your project further. The Engine is also very fat and the bigger it grows, the more space it will take on your versioning software. Unreal3D also offers limited compatibility with git (our version software of choice).

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/4/2019
Ronald L.
Content Manager
1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 30/5/2018

"The most powerful game engine that unfortunately is really hard to run in low specs devices"

Comentarios: Easiest learning curve ever, even for the shaders/materials taboo. The visualization of code in graphs (Blueprints) also helps to keep code organized, documented and optimized.

Puntos a favor: This engine is a shortcut to get an amazing final product in both aesthetics and code. The Blueprints system can do almost everything traditional code can. It's priceless to have a visual way to debug: you can see all the paths taken in the execution in real time. My favorite feature is the material creator (equivalent to shaders) based on graph nodes, which is becoming the standard nowadays, but since it's an old feature in UE it has been improved time after time being one of the most robust features. The particles system is also stunning: almost limitless, allows you to run them using your graphics card which helps to preserve the efficiency of your product (specially games). Official documentation and tutorials are A+ quality and most of the old material you can find in places like youtube still works (for UE4).

Contras: For me the hardest fact to accept is that you can't run Unreal Engine 4 Editor in a "normal" specs laptop (they explicitly say it on the requirements page), but also your final products will have higher requirements, unless you spend lots of hours and effort in optimization like it was perfectly done with Sea of Thieves and Fortnite. I shared my 3rd person spaceship prototype game with some friends and they got around 10 fps on normal (kind of old) laptops. Nothing less than i5 could run it fluidly even with 4Gb ram.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 30/5/2018
Usuario verificado
High-End game Designer and Moderator
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 3/5/2019

"The First choice of every AAA game developers"

Comentarios: I am a professional game developer and working on three game projects out of which I want to make one game not so extraordinary means I want to make a basic game which is nearly impossible with Unreal Engine because it doesn't support some 3D models and their textures and so I am using a different Game Engine to develop this kind of low-end game.
But other than that, Unreal Engine is really helping me a lot in making high-end games .

Puntos a favor: With Unreal Engine, I can make extraordinary and big size and high graphics games. This game engine provides many features which can be really appreciating in the way of developing a High-End game. Games developed using Unreal engine are greatly optimized and suits almost all types of devices except a few old featured devices. With Unreal Engine, I can import high quality 3D models and high quality textures for them. Also, we can import high quality Sound effect, without getting the game overloaded.

Contras: Though, everything is nearly fully-featured but sometimes it may become annoying when you can't import 3d models of unsupported format and also sometimes, the textures doesn't get fitted on the appropriate models making it difficult to speedily develop a small thing.
Also, some of the features of Unreal Engine requires high practice and skills unlike other Game Engines.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 3/5/2019
Joel B.
Manager
Diseño, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 25/7/2019

"The Top Game Development Software"

Comentarios: Unreal Engine is a free to use software to develop games for any platform that you desire. I use it for my personal projects and it has been doing justice ever since.

Puntos a favor: Unreal Engine is the single best game development software. It provides high quality graphics and the most realistic lighting ever seen. The Unreal asset store is filled to the brim with the highest quality assets created by the users of Unreal Engine. Unreal Engine also has support for motion capture and VR making your workload less of a stress and more fun. Blueprints is Unreal Engine's easy way of coding for beginners, but you can always switch to C++ code if you are advanced enough. If you are stuck on a particular section of your project, there are many tutorials online that are very useful. Unreal Engine offers many different types of templates for games that you may want to develop, some include first person shooters, third person shoots, vr and many more.

Contras: I have yet to encounter anything wrong with Unreal Engine, there are monthly updates that fix bugs and add new features. I must recommend this to anyone looking to get into the game developing business as there are so many useful feature that Unreal Engine provides with each new update.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 25/7/2019
Usuario verificado
3D artist
Juegos de ordenador, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/5/2020

"Unreal"

Comentarios: Unreal Engine is a powerful game engine that allowed me to make games in school projetcs

Puntos a favor: unreal is free for everybody. If you wanna work int the game industry or learn to do code C+++ this is the way to go. Alots of video games that are published by triple-A studio use Unreal Engine.

Contras: It could be overwhelming at first cause Unreal engine has a lot to offer to anyone wanting to build a level, import animation, etc.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/5/2020
Andrew F.
Lead Developer/Artist
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/2/2019

"A powerful and full featured game engine. Accessible to indies and large teams"

Comentarios: We moved to Unreal Engine for game development to try out their large, seamless landscape tools for a project. We've stuck with Unreal Engine ever since for their useful toolset, supportive team members and regular updates.

Puntos a favor: The engine is packed with useful features, but regularly gets major updates with significant performance increases and new features. This is thanks to Unreal Engine developers Epic Games still developing and releasing their own games, and feeding their fixes, features and improvements back into the engine.

Contras: Some rendering features that offer creative freedom have been deprecated in place of rendering features that allow more realism. This can be a pain to work around if an engine update comes out that deprecates something that you use, and you need to go back and adjust your project to suit the new rendering feature.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/2/2019
Upulanka P.
Engineer - Co Founder
Producción audiovisual, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 28/4/2020

"unreal Engine - An advanced game engine"

Comentarios: The overall experience is 95% positive when considering the Unreal engine and according to my experience with unreal engine this is one of the best platform for AAA game development.

Puntos a favor: The render pipeline is the best feature in the Unreal engine. Unreal engine can provide high quality, extreme realistic and advance graphics towards any game. Unreal engine also can be used in architectural visualizations. Another benefit is unreal engine has a feature called the blueprints which can be very helpful to game developers who don't have any programming knowledge.

Contras: Not like other game engines, unreal engine requires high processing power and memory. When it comes to rendering or executing a build the computer cannot be used for another process. Also user interfaces are little bit confusing.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 28/4/2020
Miguel G.
Desarrollador de software
Internet, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/5/2018

"Such a robust game engine"

Comentarios: Once you look at games produced with unreal engine it is really a no brainer figuring out why it is leading the game development industry, it is just so powerful and a good experience overall when working with it. I highly recommend it.

Puntos a favor: Unreal engine is one of the game engines that is setting the standard in todays video games industry. It is so powerful and it's games have such a high quality. For any programmer with a solid C++ knowledge beginning your experience with unreal programming shouldn't be much problem. Something that is a plus with this engine is how many tutorials online you can find, which is always a plus either when you are a begginer or when you want to go pro.

Contras: Even small games produced with Unreal engine are really heavy compared with other engines, however quality always comes at a price.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/5/2018
Nicholas H.
Graduate Research Assistant
Investigación, 5001-10,000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/10/2018

"Unreal Quality"

Comentarios: I have enjoyed every game powered by Unreal Engine. I am always excited when a new game is released utilizing unreal engine as I know the graphics will be top notch and that game-play will be visually fluid. In fact, Unreal Engine is one of the only game engine I know by name, as it is the only one I've cared to commit to my memory. Any developers looking to make a game competitive in today's visually astounding market, need look no further than Unreal Engine.

Puntos a favor: Visual fluidity and detail are two of the most important factors in games that I thoroughly enjoy and want to replay at a later date. Unreal Engine delivers.

Contras: I've searched my brain for any negative comments about Unreal Engine to leave an honest review, and can confidently say I don't have a single complaint. I am absolutely pleased with this brand's performance, and can't wait to see what they'll work up next.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/10/2018
Antonio D.
Programmer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/7/2019

"AAA Engine at an indie price"

Comentarios: Fantastic but it is definitely geared toward AAA and AA teams who have a few titles under their belt. While they've vastly improved the new user/newbie experience it has a long way to go to catch up to Unity in terms of onboarding.

Puntos a favor: Great workflow, super easy to get started, looks fantastic out of the box, has a well documented support base, native dark mode, blueprinting is fully compatible with C++ now, and a very robust community surrounding the engine.

Contras: It can be a real resource hog especially if you're running less than optimal hardware, the content marketplace is dwarfed by Unity's Asset store, C++ is much more complicated than C# or other engine languages like GDScript/Python, and their licensing structure for royalties leave a lot to be desired.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/7/2019
Usuario verificado
Game/Software Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 28/4/2019

"Very Simple To Use"

Comentarios: I have used Unreal Engine to practice with developing games and get more experience. It took me some time to learn but it was worth it to start developing powerful games. It helped me get more experience with my designing and programming skills. Overall, if you really want to make games then this is a great engine to do it with.

Puntos a favor: Unreal is a very powerful engine that you can use to make pretty much any type of game at any scale. It is free for anyone to use, which is great if you are just starting out and learning. I like that you can easily develop for a number of different platforms and have a way to quickly test them. It's also popular so there are many tutorials made that can help you learn.

Contras: Unreal Engine might not be the easiest software to learn when it comes to making games. It has a larger learning curve than other engines and can be very overwhelming when you are just getting into developing. There also isn't as many plugins as other engines such as Unity.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 28/4/2019