Opiniones de Spectrum

Calificación media

  • En general
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3.9 /5
  • Atención al cliente
    4 /5

Sobre Spectrum

Spectrum es una solución ERP de construcción completa y basada en web con herramientas de vanguardia para contabilidad, gestión de proyectos y más.

Descubre más sobre Spectrum

Mostrando 194 opiniones de %{reviews_total}

Usuario verificado
IT Administrator
Construcción, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/7/2018

"I am the administrator for Spectrum in our company and overall the Experience has been very good!"

Comentarios: Ease of administration and our accounting team rarely has any issues with the software

Puntos a favor: The support team is amazing. They are extremely helpful and are good at fixing the annoying bugs and getting to the root causes of our problems. The accounting and hr side of the software works extremely well and I have very few if any complaints or issues that I have to fix or call support for.

Contras: The project manangement side of the software was never really completed so its less than impressive. But I think on the positive side since Viewpoint has purchased Spectrum I think that integrating it with their Team software will make a huge difference in this section!

Respuesta de proveedores

por Viewpoint el 13/7/2018

We think our customer support team is amazing, too. Thank you! You¿re absolutely right about our project management focus moving to the Viewpoint Team platform, which is now integrated with Spectrum and has a product development roadmap that will open up a lot of new PM functionality to Spectrum/Team users.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/7/2018
Delmas G.
Manager
Construcción, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 17/7/2020

"Excellent construction accounting software"

Comentarios: Our experience with Spectrum has been good over the 6 years we are using the software.

Puntos a favor: This software does a good job of integrating our construction operations. We do not use the project management part of it though.
We do a lot of job costing for our projects.

Contras: I think the inventory module should be modernized and brought up to current standards. It is not very easy to use.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 17/7/2020
Jill M.
  • Calificación global
    3.5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 23/7/2013

Comentarios: I am employed by a large, heavy civil construction contractor in Oregon. I was hired five years ago in the payroll department, and Spectrum was the software that this company was already using. In the past, I had used a construction software called Foundation which was exceptional at job costing materials by piece versus hourly wage. Spectrum's latest upgrade to the new version 14 has had some major changes in the payroll and human resource module, and has taken some time to get used to. I found that the basic data entry screens are easy to use but it's taken more time to locate where the functions are than I had hoped. If our company had invested in having on-site training prior to the upgrade, I believe these changes would've been easier on all of our employees. One of our employees did attend the Seattle conference but she was disappointed that there was not more hands-on learning and training, and thought that our company should have received a team training session prior to the upgrade, as well. Our payroll, human resource, purchasing department, contract administration, and accounts payable departments have all requested additional training with this latest upgrade so that they can use Spectrum with confidence, and complete their daily tasks faster on a regular basis. I am awaiting several changes that our company has requested from Dexter and Chaney's support team via telephone and multiple emails. The human resource module needs some serious work in terms of versatility. I am still hoping to take a crystal reports training class in order to create reports in Spectrum, rather than exporting everything into an Excel spreadsheet and spending hours manipulating the reports to get the outcome that our company required for individual, specialized reports in payroll and human resources. The project management module also has one grave error in changing the appearance, flexibility, and directory for creating and maintaining transmittals. This particular flaw has cost our company a minimum of 5 hours per week in additional office clerical hours just to keep up the creating, sending, and scanning of all documents through transmittals. That's very upsetting to a fast-passed construction company that processes between 75 and 100 transmittals per week! The largest advantage I've seen since this last upgrade is that the system works faster on the Internet and I am able to access Spectrum from home.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 23/7/2013
Mendy R.
Accounting
Construcción, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    3 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    3 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 30/1/2020

"Spectrum"

Comentarios: Difficult at first to navigate. Set and implementation was horrible. Training not good

Puntos a favor: I like the different detailed functions. attachments, tracking, invoice approval routing, T&M billing when it works forrect

Contras: reports. the standard reports are not what i need. T&M billing does not always work correctly. Invoice corrections are messy. not clean. Can not reverse invoice when it is assigned a PO without approving even though invoice is not approved. The have to reverse. and reeer.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 30/1/2020
Michelle J.
Project Accountant III
Construcción, 501-1000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 7/8/2018

"Construction Software"

Comentarios: I am a project accountant and have been a Spectrum user since 1996 when it was called ForeFront and this is the only construction software I've used. Overall I find the software easy to use. I've participated in training led by Spectrum trainers and their help and advise is invaluable. The ability to export data in different file types for analysis - exporting to excel file, data only is one I use regularly. We're also lucky to have an IT software support specialist with extensive Spectrum background who is able to provide SQL reports for those times when the standard reports and exports don't give us enough flexibility with the data for analysis.

Puntos a favor: Most processes in Spectrum are intuitive for the user.

Contras: As a long time user of Spectrum, we have a heavily customized Job Cost Report. It's becoming more difficult to accommodate our custom needs as new versions are released.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 7/8/2018
Melvin H.
Construcción
  • Calificación global
    3 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    2.5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    6/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 14/11/2013

"Spectrum - Great features but could be better"

Puntos a favor: Document imaging is truly built inside the software. The image storage was built inside every module for anything you want to scan. All of our AP (invoices, vendor contracts, Insurance Certs), AR (invoice supporting documents, MSA's), equipment files (titles, registrations), etc. were stored electronically and very easy to review. When approving AP, right inside the pre-check register I could review an electronic copy of any invoice making approval on the road very simple. There were also reports that could be run telling you when contracts were to expire, registrations were due, etc. The bottom line is that the designers not only listened to what the end users wanted, they also spent a lot of time making sure they designed it to make it easy for everyone. There are also a lot of user designed fields that allow you to customize things to fit your needs.

Contras: We had problems keeping the TB in balance. At least every three months, we had a transaction that only posted 1/2 of the entry, so when we ran a trial balance, it was out of balance (and the rebuild utilities wouldn't fix it), we then had to spend hours researching witch entry didn't post correctly, figure out the other side of the entry and then pay someone with backdoor access to recreate the missing entries. When we called Dexter and Chaney's support team, they had no answers as to why it happened; they would just help us figure out how to fix it (charged per hour). The financial report writer needs a lot of work. They do not support any of the better 3rd party systems like FRx, F-9, Hyperion, etc. Therefore, there was a lot of dumping to Excel and re-keying things into formats we could use. There was also zero drill-down capability. If you ran a TB and questioned what was in the line item, you had to run a detailed TB to see the detail. Then, if it came from another sub-ledger you had to run a report there to see the source document. Our implementation consultant was not very good; her training seemed poor and her knowledge of the workings of Spectrum were great, but she had no experience with the every day use of it, so I frequently pushed back on how it would work in the real world. Eventually she would concede that it would work better the way I proposed.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 14/11/2013
Amy Z.
  • Calificación global
    2.5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    2 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    2 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 19/8/2013

Comentarios: Our business has two divisions - Commercial Construction and Service Maintenance. We’re based in Pennsylvania and have been operating for about 28 years. The computer system we had been using prior to switching to Dexter + Chaney was outdated for our uses. After carefully reviewing all the options, Dexter + Chaney was high on our list. One of the main functions we were looking for was something that would tie together both divisions of our company. We liked what the sales team told us about the software, and it seemed to better suit our needs than the system we had. We were told it had modules that would make it possible to tie in both of our divisions, with great customer support, reports that were easy to use, and to meet all of our needs, etc. We started with Dexter + Chaney in 2005 (about 8 years ago), having high hopes that Spectrum (or Forefront as it was called at that point) could perform all the functions we were looking for, and more. We spent several months preparing for the change over/familiarizing ourselves with the screens/and inputting information. Every Vendor/Employee/Client had to be reentered manually, which was very monotonous, but relatively simple. Some of the modules were similar to the program we had used prior, but others were more difficult and required calls to support. It took us several months to feel comfortable using Forefront, and probably a year+ until we felt like we really had a decent grasp of it. Since we’re a smaller business, we have the ability to notice problems with reports/programs more easily than a company with hundreds of employees. After we went live with Dexter Chaney we came across several issues, but attributed most of them to new user errors. As we have become more and more confidence with Spectrum, we have found several major bugs in the system that were unknown to Dexter + Chaney, or they had thought were resolved. On a few of these occasions, we had to really push for them to investigate and resolve the issues. One of the biggest problems we’ve seen is that the new Versions seem to be released before they are thoroughly checked, and there are repeat problems.

We have received some good, and some lacking, customer support. There are several really knowledgeable reps who have helped us through our problems quickly. We have also spoken to other reps and management in support that have been very difficult, ignoring our concerns and refusing to listen or respond to our calls/emails. At one point, we were not getting updates on a problem and logged onto their website to see if anything new was posted for our issue. We didn’t get an answer, but instead found a string of emails they had accidentally posted, making it clear that our problem wasn’t being taken seriously on their end. Something as simple as calling in to support has proven to be a hassle since Dexter + Chaney only allows 3 people on the contact list, and we have 6 regular users.

Some of the programs cannot be used to the full extent of what they are shown. Example: Payroll is set up so you can do multiple check sequences in one pay run for an employee. The problem is that it’s not set up to calculate the correct taxes/deductions if you do this. If they are paying a tax/deduction that reaches the limit in the first check, it will also be taken out of the second check, and there’s a possibility for the reports to be wrong.
We purchased the Infolink module a few years ago to help us write reports in Excel using Database Query. We were told by the sales team that it would be easy to use and we could create reports with the exact information we wanted. The training we received on it barely covered the basics. It’s far from easy to use, and many of the reports that come up cannot pull the requested information. Overall, I would say Dexter Chaney is average at best. We are able to use Spectrum for most functions, but not as easily as we were promised. Support in general is lacking, as is our confidence in the product any time there is an upgrade. It’s not as good as we were led to believe.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 19/8/2013
Usuario verificado
Office Assistant
Construcción, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    3 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/7/2018

"I am always learning something new with Spectrum!"

Comentarios: I benefit daily from spectrum from payroll and certified payroll reports it really is helpful to get those reports from spectrum and every Contractor I have sent them to has excepted them. We also benefit from job costs and equipment costs management .

Puntos a favor: What I like most about spectrum is it really is an all in one program and is always improving, also being able to pull reports on jobs and costs is very convenient and easy.

Contras: Customer support be a bit time consuming. There is so much to spectrum that it can be a bit overwhelming if you are a smaller company.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/7/2018
Usuario verificado
Assistant Controller
Construcción, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 20/7/2018

"Great Experience!"

Puntos a favor: I am a big fan of Spectrum. My company has been on it for over two years now and we love it so far! The implementation process was as expected, a lot of work but totally worth it. The customer service they offer is great and very quick responses. It is rather expensive, but we have had a wonderful experience so far!

Contras: a little limited on the estimating software side of things, but they do partner with some other companies that you can use but the price you pay is definitely up there.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 20/7/2018
Usuario verificado
Vice President Of Construction
Construcción, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    2 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    2 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    5/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/7/2018

"Feels like service is going backwards"

Comentarios: It qives our accounting team the tools they need to provide a quick and accurate overview for our company. They are able to perform all accounting functions in one platform.

Puntos a favor: Familiar feel, rather easy to train new users. Features are simple and quick to learn. It has served our company well for numerous years.

Contras: Customer service and new features feel like that are going backwards. Takes forever to get issues solved when a few years ago it was quick

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/7/2018
David L.
Sr. Staff Accountant
Fabricación de productos eléctricos/electrónicos, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 7/11/2017

"Full featured software package"

Comentarios: As with any large, complex and flexible software package like Spectrum, it can be rather complicated to set up and train users in operating it. We have been overall pleased in using it since we switched back in 2009. During this time our business has just about tripled in size and we do not feel as if we have out grown it.

Puntos a favor: Lots of modules available with a fairly robust implementation, continuing active additions of new features and improvements, document imaging allows easy access to attached documents, security rights for employees can be adjusted down to individual menu selections if necessary, customer support is very good and transparent (we are notified if something doesn't work as expected with suggested workarounds - even if we didn't report the issue), and the ability to create custom reports in Crystal.

Contras: While subscriptions for updated US and state income tax tables are available, local income tax tables are not. When a sales/use tax code is entered into the screen, it cannot be marked inactive if it is no longer used (there are some other setups with the same issue). If a report has been previewed or exported in one form (pdf, for example), it cannot be immediately exported in another (such as Excel) without re-running the report. While most reports run quickly, there are some that can take a while and having to wait the additional time for the same information can be frustrating.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 7/11/2017
Lora M.
AR
Construcción, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/12/2018

"From an AR Perspective"

Comentarios: Overall Spectrum is a time saver. It has helped bring project management into the loop of being able to resolve customer issues.
The best part is it has allowed me to be able to work from home two days a week for a year now!

Puntos a favor: The navigation make it so you can figure out what you need to do next with a minimum amount of training on how to use the system.
The customizable reports are a great asset.
Billing reports are easy to pull together.

Contras: Draw Request is my least favorite in this system. When you open draw request it shows you in the upper right in financials you have previous work. The total schedule of values is NOT showing. If you have amounts in both this period and materials stored the system will not give you a total of combined for the draw. Also when you are in the draw the entire line needs to highlight while scrolling down for the line you need. It gets very frustrating at times.
When something is entered into job cost under the wrong phase, there needs to be a way to change the phase and not have to do multiple entries for negative to to incorrect phase and a positive to the correct phase. That would be ha huge time saver.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/12/2018
Mary R.
Accounting Manager
Fabricación de productos eléctricos/electrónicos, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 24/4/2018

"10 years and still going strong"

Comentarios: Our go live date with Spectrum was 4/2008. Yes, we've been using the core accounting program for 10 years. We've also added other modules that help us do our business efficiently. Over the past 10 years our company has more than doubled in the number of employees, gross sales and net income. 2017 was the best year in the 70 year history of the company. I can honestly say that Spectrum has played a large role in helping us attain this level of success. With this software, the amount of information that is right at our fingertips is amazing!

Puntos a favor: The software is user friendly. There are plenty of help menus if you get stuck. The software is constantly being updated and often the updates are in response to customer requests. The document imaging feature and access to a variety of reports has greatly reduced the amount of paper necessary to run our business.

Contras: The cost is the biggest issue. The annual fee to go to the cloud is several times more than the cost if you provide your own server. Although there are many benefits and additional features that we'd love if we went to the cloud, it's just too much money for a regional independent contractor to spend.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 24/4/2018
Joseph G.
Controller
Construcción, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    3 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 1/11/2018

"Spectrum 14.24"

Comentarios: Like all programs that have a significant number of features, the more your staff learns about the software the better the ROI.
The user interface has a lot going on and can be overwhelming at first. However, there is a logic to it and once learned a diverse array of features can be accessed quickly.

Puntos a favor: The ability to access many features from one screen.
The connectivity of features on screen. For example, if a job is displayed, all of the customer information is available as well.
No need to add software to each workstation, software runs within a browser (I've used Internet Explorer, Chrome, Firefox and my cell phone browser, I understand other browsers are supported as well)
All reports can be emailed right from the display screen.

Contras: Many of the reports must be customized to meet user needs.
Some features are not located in an intuitive place.
Financial statement writer is basic and pretty weak.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 1/11/2018
Karen L.
Controller
Construcción, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/7/2018

"We have been with Spectrum since 1997 (when it was Forefront). This software is a workhorse!"

Comentarios: Ease of use and great support!

Puntos a favor: I like how easy this program is to use. If I can't find the report I need, I can easily export to Excel or Crystal Reports. The document imaging module saves us time when we need to review invoices or other documentation later. When I have issues, the support team is right there and usually can fix the problem while we are on the phone. It is rare for us to have an open ticket.

Contras: There are some differences between modules. When you exit a previewed report, some take you back to the site map while others take you back to the report page so you can adjust and run again if necessary. Consistency would be nice. It isn't a big deal, it could save a few steps.

Respuesta de proveedores

por Viewpoint el 6/8/2018

You have truly seen the evolution of the software, going all the way back to the Forefront days. Wow! Thank you for your support through the years, Karen. We really value your partnership.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/7/2018
Lesley L.
Sr. Project Coordinator
Construcción, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    3 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 2/11/2017

"Four years and counting"

Puntos a favor: I have been using Spectrum V14 since it was released. I like the apps on the Site Map and the shortcuts menu. I train our project manager and project engineers on this software regularly and these two areas I think get used the most by our people. I promote these areas on a regular basis and encourage everyone to use the ones we have already created and also create their own.

Contras: My wish list would include a link to Outlook for ease of obtaining and maintaining a list of current contacts. Also, RSS feeds hardly ever get used, but links to actual websites would be a better feature. Also, insurance tracking feature is confusing when working between the vendor and the job-specific side. It would be very helpful if the Help Menu broke down the available features related to insurance and how each one can or should be used.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 2/11/2017
Joan H.
Business Manager
Construcción, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 24/4/2018

"Mixed feelings"

Comentarios: Create a book, something that can be highlighted, tabbed, notes written into it. Offer training in more cities, and more affordably.

Puntos a favor: Easy to check status of payments, see and print POs, look at phase codes, relatively easy to enter pay applications.

Contras: For someone without a strong accounting background, the sequence of required events is not intuitive or readily apparent. Help queries turn up too much or too little, and don't help with that sequence of events. Can't create new reports without learning a whole new program, one that we hired people specifically to do at a previous job because of the complexity. Email reminders before trigger events would be nice (an email a month before a subcontractor's COI is set to expire, for example, instead of just holding up payment when an invoice is being processed). An app for field engineers to be able to create POs on their iPhones would be an awesome feature, but I don't know of any plans to add it.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 24/4/2018
Paula H.
CFO
Fabricación de productos eléctricos/electrónicos, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 20/4/2018

"Don't fix what isn't broken"

Comentarios: Spectrum has continued to grow their products. They have a superb support department. The staff is fairly consistent with not a lot of turn-over. You get to know the people behind the scenes and build relationships with them and their network.

Puntos a favor: My favorite thing about Spectrum is that it continues to grow with our business. We have been Spectrum users for 25 years. In these 25 years Spectrum has been on the cutting edge of technology. We continue to get value from the updates and software collaborations.

Contras: My least favorite thing is it takes too long to get updates. I would like the easy updates to come out once a month. I realize this is not cost effective, but typically if there is anything I am disgruntled about it will show up in a future quarterly update.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 20/4/2018
Tina H.
  • Calificación global
    3.5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    3 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 8/8/2013

Comentarios: We've been using Dexter & Chaney Spectrum (previously Forefront) for over 12 years; longer than I've actually been employed by the construction company I work for. We originally (and for many years) only used Spectrum for some basic accounting functions. After finally upgrading to the current version (we are currently on V13), we expanded our use of the software, utilizing the system on a much broader base - from purchasing and subcontracts, to projecting costs, and financial reporting/WIP. We have found that with the increased functionality came increased training needs. We had project managers that had never used the system previously, and suddenly needing to do their projections directly in the system. Navigation has been a source of contention, but we think that version 14 shows some promise on being much easier to navigate for non-computer-savvy users. Computer savvy users have generally been able to quickly learn to use the system. The flexibility of the system does allow a large range of ways to enter and report information, and this has been a positive and a negative. It's a positive as we can choose to set up jobs in different ways depending on how we want to run and report that job. It's a negative in that there are so many choices to make, and that some users can get confused if given too many options. Customer support was initially very poor, as we were on a very old version that really wasn't being supported well. Since we've upgraded to a more recent version, customer support has improved. Custom programming can be very expensive, and we've encountered some issues that required custom programming, but Spectrum, for the most part, has enough functionality in place with the base product to meet most needs. I've used a few other systems, and Spectrum seems to be far better than the other ones I've used. I've heard others complain sometimes, but I think that some of that comes from confusion over the wide variety of options and the navigation difficulties (not being intuitive). All-in-all, I think it's a pretty good product.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 8/8/2013
Kathy B.
Accounting Specialist
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/7/2018

"I have been a Spectrum user for 20+ years. I am in accounting and really like the program."

Puntos a favor: I like that it is very user friendly. It has easy to read reports. Our payroll is very complicated, yet Spectrum was able to handle our payroll without any special programming. I also love the document imaging. I can now look up everything from my desktop when I need to see a timecard, A/R invoice or A/P invoice.

Contras: When writing reports sometimes it is very hard to find where the information is that you need. I think that BI is going to take care of this but you must be hosted by Spectrum, which we are not.

Respuesta de proveedores

por Viewpoint el 13/7/2018

Thanks for your continued support over the years, Kathy! We appreciate you taking time to share your experiences using Spectrum, and it's great to hear that you're finding the document imaging feature useful.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/7/2018
Carrie L.
Controller
Construcción, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/7/2018

"Customer Service is by far the best. They are always able to help with even the simplest questions."

Puntos a favor: The ability to pull out reports with any bit of information needed. I like that it show cost in real time as long as it is entered in a timely manner. The support that is offered is amazing someone is always able to help out.

Contras: I wish there was a way to email out pay stubs. I also wish the quarterly tax reports were printed on to the approved IRS or State forms already(less mistakes and less time taken) The same goes for certified reports - contractor make us transfer the information on the state approved forms.

Respuesta de proveedores

por Viewpoint el 13/7/2018

We really appreciate you mentioning our outstanding customer support team, Carrie. Thank you! The team takes a lot of pride in providing great service, and it¿s nice to be recognized.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/7/2018
Harris S.
VP
Construcción, 201-500 empleados
  • Calificación global
    1 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    1 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    1 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    1 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 16/4/2018

"Look elsewhere if you want a successful implementation with a company that cares."

Comentarios: If you want a successful implementation with a company that responds promptly and effectively when problems arise, look elsewhere! On our "go live week", Spectrum was not configured, AP and AR were not fully imported and the parts that were imported did not match up. Due to overworked Project Managers, it often took 2-3 days out to schedule a call time with them and no one from Spectrum senior leadership team seemed to care that our implementation was not proceeding successfully. We had to cancel the implementation and revert back to our previous accounting system (at substantial financial cost). I am currently waiting for my PM to update me on how they plan to take us live yet again with a detailed project plan so the above never happens again (Note: My PM never offered any suggestions here, I had to proactively reach out asking for a go-forward plan to keep them organized.) See below for all the struggles we have had with Spectrum. Also if you are transitioning from anyone other then the major accounting software systems, stay away! They promised that they had the past experience and knowledge to transition us from our current accounting software, Starbuilder, but when it came time to transition they had no one who knew how to do it. See "Cons" below for additional problems I will continue to update this post as things evolve.

Puntos a favor: -None so far as they failed to take us live.
-Competitive pricing
-Great user community with a forum.

Contras: Cons:
-Custom projects not delivered on time for "Go Live". At least 1.5 months behind schedule
-Sales team would send a contract and then when we went to sign said they made a mistake and increased contract price.
-Never provided solutions to problems.
-Implementation specialist what tell us features about features that we would be using then come back to us and say those features are actually not included and would be additional.
-Never told us when purchasing that future modules might not be available for self-hosted customers only to more pricey cloud hosted customers (2 are already not available for self-hosted)
-PM teams are not proactive or reactive.
-Concerns and problems are documented by PMs but are never reviewed or escalated to management.
-The purchase of Dexter+Cheny by Viewpoint has hurt the customers as admitted to by employees and seen by users (Short staffed, reassigned positions, information not shared across teams/ companies. )
-Dexter Chaney/ VIewpoint has not once, without a fight, offered acceptable solutions and any problems caused by them.
-User is billed for time spent by PM team to fix problems caused by Dexter Chaney/ VIewpoint
-This list can go on for another 30 bullet points at least.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 16/4/2018
Cheryl H.
Office Manager
Construcción, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 12/4/2018

"Connecting the dots from field to upper management"

Comentarios: Customer support is impeccable. If you have an issue, they are very quick to respond. Really enjoy the Spectrum Network to reach out to other users and find out what helps them the most. Great community.

Puntos a favor: Since going web based, Spectrum is much easier to use. The job info bar gives easy access to all areas of your job and instantly know where you are at with costs, revenue, etc. Being able to customize our reports has been very useful. Documentation and document imaging keep everything in one place and easy to navigate.

Contras: Would like the Project Management module to be a little beefier and give better access to change how the forms and reports look, somewhat limited.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
  • Publicado el 12/4/2018
Herman K.
CFO
Construcción, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/12/2018

"Best I've used in 26 years"

Comentarios: I first starting using spectrum when it was called Forefront in 1992. I was working as a controller for a large mechanical and needed software that was easily usable and would perform without having to have a large in house IT staff. Since then, I have worked for four major companies and have brought along Forefront/Spectrum to each one of the companies for whom I have worked. It's a great product with fantastic backup. I've worked and looked at others along the way, but have always come back to Spectrum.

Puntos a favor: Does all I like it to do. Provides great information and is usable in multiple ways. Great trainers and support for any use/problem.

Contras: Can't think of one. I've used others but they didn't match up for the construction industry.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 4/12/2018
Tracy R.
Senior Accountant
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Calificación global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Características y funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    Sin valoración
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/7/2018

"Good Construction Software"

Puntos a favor: We were looking for a software with a service side and strong job cost all in one. Spectrum nails it! Ease of use. Endless custom report options. Ability to create custom dashboard apps. Great security features. All in the cloud!

Contras: Purchasing add-ons to accommodate the project managers can get pricey, but there are a ton of options that integrate with Spectrum.

Respuesta de proveedores

por Viewpoint el 6/8/2018

Thank you for being such a terrific advocate! It's great to see that you're getting so much value from the software. Also, we now have a native integration between Spectrum and our Team project management platform. We would be happy to give your project managers a demo if you like.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/7/2018